Mayors of Lismore

In 1879 Lismore was incorporated as a municipality with James Stocks (pictured below), a chemist, elected as first Mayor and William James Harman appointed as Town Clerk. Council set about developing the basic infrastructure needed to support its growing population, including drainage and the provision of kerosene lamps on street posts.

The walls of the Lismore City Council Chambers corridors are filled with portraits showcasing many of Lismore's Mayors. 

Pictured to the right is Ald C A H Dalziell who was Mayor from 1942 to 1946.

Lismore's current Mayor is Cr Steve Krieg.

Mayors of Lismore
Years Name
1879-80-81 Ald James Stocks
1882-83 Aid E W Allingham
1883-85-92-93-1907 Aid Jas Barrie
1886-87-94 Ald L Bemsteim
1888 Ald A J Simpson
1888 Ald R S Wotherspoon
1889-90-91-96-97-98-99 Ald J F O'Flynn
1895-1900-01 Ald J W Coleman
1902-03 Ald W Lockett
1904 Ald R S K Balmer
1905-16-17-18-19-20-21-22-27-28-29 Ald C McKenzie
1906 Ald Hon G Nesbitt, MLC
1907 Ald J Quilty
1908-09-10-12-13 Ald R J Spinks
1911 Ald J B Carlton
1914-15 Ald R White
1923-24-25 Ald R Brewster
1926 Ald R Kellas
1927-28-29 Ald C McKenzie
1930-31-34 Ald D C McARoss
1932-35-36 Ald E J Eggins
1933 Ald W Frith
1933-37 Ald S J Hosie
1938 Ald R Kellas
1939-49 Ald W F Oakes
1941-42 Ald R R Gordon
1943-44-45-46 Ald C A H Dalziell
1947-48 Ald W G Walker
1949 Ald R E Churchward
1950-5 l-52-53-54-55-56 Ald R Granger
1956-57-58-59-60-61-62-63-64-65-66 Ald C J Campbell
1966-67-68-69-70-71-72-73-74-75-76-77-78-79-80-81 Ald G W Blair
1981-Feb 82 Ald H J Shearman
1982 Feb-May 1983 Ald R Cowley
1983-84 Ald J F Crowther
1984-87 Ald R W Scullin
1987-92 Ald H R Fredericks
1992 Ald J F Crowther
1993-95 Cr J F Crowther
1995-97 Cr J F Champion
1997-99 Cr R M Irwin
1999-2003 Cr L R Gates
2003-2008 Cr M King
2008-2016 Cr J R Dowell OAM
2016- Feb 2021 Cr I S Smith
2021 Feb - Dec 2021 Cr V J Ekins
2021 Dec - Present Cr S T Krieg

Pictured here is Ald R J Spinks who was Mayor in 1908-09-10-12-13.